***

“You don’t have to work so hard at this. You don’t have to do so much. You don’t have to endeavour to be natural, normal and good. It happens by itself when you least expect it. If you are confused about what you should be doing, try this. Stop what you are doing. Take care of what is in front of you, when it is front of you, and the confusion will pass. This is called the effort of no effort. No effort is what powers the universe.

With time your roots grow deep and your branches long. You lean less backward in fear and a little less forward in doubt, resting solidly right where you are. When the wind blows, you bend. When it stops, you straighten. Your boughs provide shelter and shade. Your strength supports the sky. Sitting quietly, doing nothing, spring comes and the grass grows by itself.

Your baby will be ok. ”

Karen Miller, “Momma Zen – walking the crooked path of motherhoood”

2 Comments

Filed under not such a zen mama

2 responses to “***

  1. This book literally changed me. I read it when Vesper was 2 weeks old and I’m definitely better for it. Am I zen…well you know from my panicked emails that I’m not quite there, but I really do feel I would have been much for worried. fretted and unhappy without this wisdom! xoxox

    • I agree Lane, I wish I had read it when I had Una. I’ve been struggling a bit these days and really needed to go back and re-read this part…
      BTW – I really think that you are super-zen for a first-time mom! xoxo

Leave a Reply

